Skip to content

Wind Running and My New Nutrition Plan

November 15, 2011

Hello Running People Out There,

I have to say that it seems like we lost track at some point in this world.  I have never been, nor will I ever, understand why people live the way they do.  All f these people spending their free time trying to loss weight, get healthy, and eating terrible food.  When will the world really care about their health and their bodies.  Remember this, YOU ONLY GET ONE BODY!!!! (Unless cyborgs are invented, but that may be a while).

This afternoon I went for a nine mile run in the wind.  Although there are plenty of things that I would rather do the run in the wind (mainly running without the darn wind), it was great!  I got outside, I beat nature, and I got to give strange looks back to all the people locked in their cars looking at me like I am crazy.  But when it comes down to it I love to run and wind running is really speed, strength, and mental training without it feeling like it.  Exercise is only a chore if you think it is.  SO starting tomorrow just get up and go, don’t make it an option.

Then there is the amazing reward of getting to sit down and eat two peppers, 4 carrots, an onion, a tomato,and some fake chkn in three tortillas making up some amazing fajitas and knowing that I can eat more.  The healthy lifestyle is amazing.  No longer do I need to read the ingredient labels to count calories, no I can search for even more food to fill the tummy.  Mmmmmmm, gooooood foooood!  When you leave out all of that highly processed foods (removing most nutrients) you get amazing, fresh, and healthy foods and you don’t have to watch what you eat.

So what about those long runs?  How can someone stay energized and crush a long run without all those gels, powders, and bars?  I finally perfected (so far) my running food.  The drink is easy as can be.  One can of coconut water (I like BlueMonkey), chia seeds (I prefer those that are whole, not ground), more chia seeds (1/8 cup or a little more total), a tablespoon or two of maple syrup (sweet and tasty), and either lemon or lime juice.  Blend the chia seeds then mix it all together and it will keep you going for a very long time.  Supplement that with pretzels, bananas, and apples and you have everything that you need.  When your body doesn’t need to spend the energy on breaking down the processed stuff you have more of your body focused on running.  If this does not get you the kick you need then add a few dates (make sure there are no pits or your blender will hate you forever) and I sometimes add just a little bit of salt if it is hot and I may sweat during the run.

What about hunger?  I have not made them myself yet but I have tried a homemade version of larabar and they are great and easy.  Buy a Vitamix blender, seriously.  They are great.  Blend together dates, a little lemon juice (or lemon wedges) to keep them fresh.  Then add any nuts, fruit, coco nut, or stuff like that.  The once mixed make the into bars, roll them in coconut or finely chopped cashews (almost a powder) and store them in the freezer for long term or fridge for short term.  (The cashews and coconut help keep them from sticking).  Since I work in a grocery store (I Love Whole Foods Market, 7 years and going) I will tell you that bulk is the way to go.  And for the dates and nuts you may be able to get a discount if you buy a bunch at a time if you will use them.

Have fun with it.  Put on some music, find someone to keep you company and every few weeks make big batches of things.  You can save money and have great food without packaging and preservatives.  And don’t forget about the internet.  Many great ultra runners put their recipes online and they are great.  Brendan Braziers book Thrive has a bunch and if you search many people have posted the recipes.

Live Free and Unprocessed!

 

p.s. If this seems like random post, then welcome to my brain.  Completely random and without organization for 23 years and I am still going.

From → Barefoot, Food, Nutrition

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    I’m looking forward to trying your homemade version of larabar. Here’s another snack recipe your readers might enjoy:

    Vegan Chocolate Earth Balls

    1 cup peanut butter
    1/3 cup honey
    2 teaspoons carob powder or unsweetened organic cocoa powder
    1/2 cup raisins
    3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, divided
    1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips (vegan)
    1/4 cup sesame seeds
    1/4 cup finely chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans, etc.)

    Before measuring the peanut butter, stir it up well.
    Mix the peanut butter, honey and carob or cocoa powder until well combined. Stir in the raisins and 2 tablespoons of the coconut. Stir in the chocolate chips. Refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours.

    Place the remaining coconut, sesame seeds and nuts into 3 separate bowls. Using a spoon, scoop small heaps of the peanut mixture from the bowl; roll into 1 1/4-inch balls. Rolling is easier if you form a rough ball, roll in the coconut, and then continue rolling into a more perfect shape. Roll each finished ball in more coconut, sesame seeds and chopped nuts. Arrange the balls on a plate, cover loosely with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

    I love these! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

