Skip to content

No More Fake Food!

November 8, 2011

Food or Fake Food?

As I have progressed as a runner I have been told over and over that no matter what you do there is a certain point where you need to break down and do the gels, goos, powders, bars, and the other stuff that barely counts as food.  On some of my longer runs my watch has said I burn from 1200 to 4000 calories depending on what I am doing (I doubt its accuracy but the point is still there).  It is hard to think of any way to eat enough calories to make up for that in just a few hours.  Even harder when you are a vegan health nut who hates process foods and would like to avoid sweet things.  Oh yeah, I’m also on a budget.

So what is the solution?

I got ready for my run with a big breakfast, stretched, and was ready to go.  Shortly before I left I went to eat a Clif Shot and drink my electrolyte drink and I felt sick just looking at it.  Both my body and my mind can tell it is not food, and my body wants nothing to do with it.  After returning from my run I saw my uneaten (does it count as eating if it isn’t food?) sitting on the table and I had to get rid of it.  No more gross stuff.  I have some stupidly crazy goals and I refuse to sacrifice one passion for another.  I also refuse to back down and I will be doubling my efforts tomorrow with another long run attempt.

So after all of this ranting what is my plan?

I will start with the usual breakfast, it seems to work, then I will make a change.  I will from this point forward be powered by real food.  Bananas, pretzels, chia, and other crazy stuff.  If people can summit the tallest mountain in the world without Oxygen then surly I can go without synthetic electrolytes for a few hours.  And besides, for the cost of a few gels and some sports drink I can buy a bag of pretzels that will last a week and they sure taste a lot better.  This is the time to really show what the human body can do.

By the way, I have something to announce.  My formal intention to not only run but crush the LA Marathon next year.  My 1st goal will be 3:30:00 but I will be trying to train for 3:00:00.  Crazy right?

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    I do wish I could be at the LA marathon to cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

